Ten Davids, Two Goliaths

A Fallen Empire Novella

Matthew W Quinn

LIST PRICE

1.99

BUY NOW ON

Book Description

The Tri-Sun Alliance has been nibbling at the edges of the Sarellian Empire, attacking isolated patrols, supply convoys, and even civilian supporters of the regime. But now Alliance intelligence has learned of something worth gambling their limited combat power–a pair of Imperial escort cruisers on a training mission near an isolated world.

Helping command the attack is Lt. Geun Choi, a former Imperial fighter pilot disgraced by an act of mercy. Serving under him is Tamara Watson, another ex-Imperial with demons of her own. But whatever their pasts, the two must improvise or die when it turns out the intelligence that sent them on the mission wasn’t complete and the carefully-planned ambush develops complications.

Taking place before pilot Alisa Marchenko met her future engineer Mica Coppervein and well before the Empire fell, this tale set in Lindsay Buroker’s FALLEN EMPIRE universe explores the early days of the Great Rebellion. Fans of STAR WARS, FIREFLY, WING COMMANDER, and the tales of Honor Harrington will enjoy this adventure.

About the author

Matthew W. Quinn (b. 1984) grew up in Marietta, Georgia. After graduating from the University of Georgia with a dual degree in magazine journalism and history, his career has seen him reporting for one newspaper, editing two more, reporting for an online news service and a sports magazine, blogging for a cloud-computing firm and two film companies, and collecting Twitter feeds for online ad campaigns. His reporting has brought him into contact with presidential candidates, television celebrities, and notable authors and once earned him a commendation from the Georgia Department of Veterans' Service. Throughout all of this, he has written science fiction, fantasy, and horror. His first sale was during his last year at college, when he sold "I am the Wendigo" to the webzine CHIMAERA SERIALS. Though 2008 saw three sales to a fantasy print magazine that failed before they could be published, 2009 saw the sale of "Skirmish at the Vale's Edge" to BattleCorps, the official BattleTech tie-in site. He made his first professional-level sale, "Coil Gun," to PRESSURE SUITE: DIGITAL SCIENCE FICTION #3 in 2011. In 2012, he began self-publishing some of his short stories for Amazon's Kindle, one of which was "I am the Wendigo." He also sold the Viking horror tale "Nicor" to HEROIC FANTASY QUARTERLY. Now his published stories and many more have come together in a new collection, FLASHING STEEL, FLASHING FIRE: TEN TALES OF VALOR AND IMAGINATION. Matthew is also a regular participant in the podcast MYOPIA: DEFEND YOUR CHILDHOOD in which the movies you enjoyed as a child are put on trial to see if they hold up.

FOLLOW THE AUTHOR
←Previous post Next post→